One of the key aspects of maintaining a gluten-free diet is to know which ingredients are unsafe to consume. Take one look at a list of ingredients, however, and you may quickly find yourself confused by what you see. That’s why we put together a list of the common ingredients that all people with celiac disease should know and avoid. We suggest taking this list to the grocery store and using it as a cheat sheet for any questionable ingredients you notice.

Wheat

Wheat is typically listed on food labels, however there are a few other names it goes by that you may not be familiar with. The following wheat ingredients contain gluten:

  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Flour
  • Frumento
  • Graham
  • Kamut
  • Matzah
  • Matzo
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Triticum
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ

Many processed foods contain wheat in some form, so it is important to stick to natural foods with few ingredients. A few wheat items to avoid on the gluten-free diet are beer, breads, cereal, pasta, dressings, and sauces, among others.

Barley

Barley contains gluten, so you should avoid all products that contain barley or its derivatives, such as malt. A few food items to avoid are bread, pasta, malt vinegar, and whiskey, among others.

Rye

Rye is one of the grains that contains gluten and is therefore off limits. Most rye is easy to identify on food labels, and can be found in breads, crackers, whiskey, and more products.

This list will help you avoid accidental exposures to gluten, however there are many ingredients that you may be sensitive to if you have celiac disease. Always use caution when grocery shopping for gluten-free food and beverages, and stick to natural products such as fruits, vegetables, rice, and meats.